Uncategorized

Meal Plan Monday: 03.02.15 – 03.08.15

Bonus post for you loverly bitches. I’ve had multiple people ask me for my meal plans and grocery lists, so I’m going to try to do this weekly for them and whoever else will find it helpful. We were scheduled to have a huge snow shitstorm Saturday, so we went grocery shopping a day early (We normally go on Sundays. It’s like our church. We try to get done before actual churches let out for the afternoon.) I try to stock up when our local grocery stores have sales and it seemed like everything was on sale. With that in addition to the fact that I needed to restock some pantry items, our freezer, refrigerator, and pantry are all incredibly stuffed to the gills right now and the grocery bill was an exorbitant amount. I picked up some oxtails to add to the bone broth; I’d heard they’re very good to add some gelatin to the broth. I doubt I’ll purchase them again unless they just fabulously astound me with their amazingness and rainbows shoot out of their tiny bony bits. They were so. fucking. expensive – $12.10 for a small package. So… they better amaze me with their amazingness and be completely amazing. AMAZING.

Breakfasts:

  • Eggs, bacon
    • I’ll probably make some scrambles and omelettes through the week – throw in some kale, sweet potatoes, chopped onions, green onions, cheese, & zucchini at one point or another
  • Oatmeal with strawberries, blueberries, cream, and honey
  • Yogurt with strawberries and blueberries
  • Leftovers from dinner the night before
    • Just this morning for breakfast, I had leftover brown rice with a leftover broiled pork chop chopped up and mixed in with some Chinese brown sauce. You’ll never convince me dinner for breakfast or breakfast for dinner is a bad idea.

Lunches:

  • Deli meat rollups with olives and a massaged kale salad
  • Broiled shrimp and cauli-mash
  • Poached cod and broccoli
  • Brown rice with homemade Chinese brown sauce and leftover broccoli
  • Leftovers from dinner the night before

Snacks:

  • Green apples with nut butter (a leftover good habit from 21DSD)
  • Yogurt with strawberries and blueberries
  • 1/2 cup rainbow sherbet (we’ve all got our vices – mine is rainbow sherbet and wine)
  • Dill pickle
  • A serving of pepperoni or a couple slices of deli meat
  • A serving of raw almonds
  • A serving of cheddar Nut Thins or BBQ rice crackers

Dinner:

  • Monday
    • We’ll be having dinner out. Chuck has started attending a writer’s group every other week in the Quad Cities an hour away from where we live and it meets this week. He leaves directly after work in order to pick me up and make it to the writing group on time. This leaves very little time to eat dinner at home since we get back very late from this trip. I’ve taken the opportunity to meet up with old work friends at a sushi bar two doors down from the coffee house the writer’s group meets at. Everybody wins. Well… as long as I remember to bring my own soy sauce. Otherwise, I’ll be miserable for the next week.
  • Tuesday
    • Mozzarella stuffed pork meatballs with zoodles and tomato basil sauce
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
    • Slow roasted chicken breast & sweet potatoes
  • Friday
    • Chicken, Sweet Potato, & Kale Soup made from the slow roasted chicken and sweet potatoes the night before. Here’s where that awesome bone broth I was talking about earlier comes in for the week.
  • Saturday
    • Steak, baked potato, & bacon wrapped asparagus
  • Sunday
    • Leftovers – we’ll clean out the fridge of all the leftovers to make room for the next week’s load. I’m hoping since we stocked up so much this week and the freezer is full, we’ll be able to have a significantly smaller grocery bill next week.

Grocery List:

  • Green beans (2 frozen bags)
  • Sherbet
  • Asparagus (2 frozen bags)
  • Strawberries (3 frozen bags)
  • Blueberries (1 gigantic frozen bag)
  • Shrimp (2 bags)
  • Cod (1 lb frozen bag)
  • Bell pepper
  • Green onions
  • Zucchini (3)
  • Sweet potatoes (9)
  • Kale
  • White onion (2)
  • Baking potatoes (2)
  • Green apples
  • Peaches
  • Ginger
  • Brown rice
  • Baking soda (restocking fridge & freezer, bathroom, & pantry – we were COMPLETELY out)
  • Water (10 gallon jugs – our tap water tastes like sulfur and coats everything in this weird white and green calcium looking gunk that’s hard to get off the faucets, so I try not to drink it or use in our cooking. It’s a far cry from Memphis’ tap water.)
  • Nut butter
  • Pickles
  • Pepperoni
  • Parmesan
  • Black pepper
  • Celtic sea salt
  • Nut Thins (box of cheddar for me & a box of pepperjack for Chuck)
  • Ground pork (ended up getting 3 packs, as they were on sale for $2/lb)
  • Chicken breasts (I always get the big packs and separate them to freeze the extra)
  • Steak (2 ribeyes)
  • Eggs
  • Orange juice (2 gallon jugs of not-from-concentrate)
  • Pearl mozzarella
  • Milk (whole)
  • Amish butter (2 lb. roll)
  • Cream
  • Yogurt (2 containers)
  • Bottle of red wine (I try to replace them as I drink them, so I’ll have a bottle on hand)

Late additions due to sales:

  • Smoked turkey deli meat (Applegate brand; normally $4.98 per pack, on sale for $3 per pack)
  • Beef marrow bones (normally $5 per pack, on sale for $3.95 per pack)
  • Pepperjack cheese slices
  • Extra ground pork (mentioned before)
  • Ribeye pork chops (normally around $3.50 per lb., on sale for $2.48 per pound; I bought 75 oz. worth)

Impulse buys:

  • Oxtails
  • Udi’s gluten free uncured pepperoni pizza (Normally $8.99 at HyVee, found them for $5.76 at WM)
  • Cream cheese (I’m planning on making I Breathe I’m Hungry’s Cream Cheese Pancakes)
  • Coffee beans (My stepmom sent me a coffee grinder, so I’m anxious to try it out)
  • Applegate salami (This was a Chuck impulse buy – he really likes Applegate’s salami. He says it tastes “natural and clean.” Personally, I prefer the italian brand we get at HyVee, but to each his own…)
  • Ocean Spray Ruby Red Grapefruit Juice (Another Chuck impulse buy)
  • Tart Cherry Juice (Another Chuck impulse buy)
  • Apple wedger (I’ve been looking for one of these for years and randomly found one at WM in the freezer aisle of all places)
  • Gluten free bread crumbs (Randomly found this one looking for the baking soda in the baking aisle. Thought I’d give them a whirl in the mozzarella stuffed meatballs.)
  • Gluten free refrigerated chocolate chip cookie dough (Found this one trying to find the normal price at HyVee for Udi’s pizza. We tried it out Saturday night and Chuck loved them – couldn’t tell a difference between those and “normal” refrigerated cookie dough. I thought they were too sweet, but that may just be a leftover effect from 21DSD.)

All in all, we spent $329.62. It’s a LOT of money. Way more than we’re accustomed to spending, but we got a ton of meat on sale and had a lot of impulse buys, so I’d say it all evens out and is understandable. Welp. That’s all I’ve got, kids. As if that wasn’t enough for you. Keep it clean, y’all.

xoxo,

Kitchen Bitch

Standard

Leave a Reply

