21DSD, Fish, Gluten Free, Kitchen Bitch, Recipes, Soups

Bouillabaisse

I had the most killer Bouillabaisse from Thunder Bay Grille last night (Friday) and I couldn’t stop thinking about it all day, so I ended up making my own this morning for lunch. This is a super simple stew you can make for your family that’s filled with veggies and creatures of the deep. You can pretend you’re Ariel and shit, eating your fishy friends. Too much? Oops.

Bouillabaisse is also known as Fisherman’s Stew and is traditionally made with Herbes de Provence, at least three different kinds of fish, and is served with crunchy bread and a mayonnaise type spread called rouille. Hi. Have you met me? This is not fucking happening. You want gourmand shit? Go see the Kitchen Witch. From what I’ve heard, she makes a killer Boeuf Bourguignon. From me? You’ll probably get something I threw together and was really fucking tasty, so I’m sharing it. Which is what happened here. You’re welcome.

Bouillabaisse de Jaws

(Try to get that theme song out of your head now. I dare you.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cod fillets
  • 1 lb. large shrimp
  • 6 scallops
  • 1 onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, roughly chopped
  • 4 stalks celery, thinly sliced
  • 1 zucchini, diced with skin intact
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tsp. Herbes de Provence
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne (optional, but I like my Bouillabaisse a little spicy)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 3 cups fish broth
  • 1 tbsp. fat of choice (I used bacon grease)
  • 2 tbsp. fat of choice

Directions:

  1. In pot, melt down 1 tbsp. of fat of choice and saute vegetables, garlic, cayenne, and Herbes de Provence until the onions are translucent over medium high heat. Turn down to medium-low, add can of diced tomatoes and fish broth. Let simmer while you’re working on other shit.
  2. In pan, melt down remaining 2 tbsp. of fat of choice and add shrimp and scallops. Pan fry until done, then throw in pot with veggies and broth. Cut cod fillets into chunks and pan fry until slightly browned on the outside. Throw that junk in the pot, too.
  3. Simmer everything together for about five minutes, salt and pepper to taste, then serve.

This recipe should serve 3-4 normal portions or 2 very hungry people.

qXfhaWUG9IvQkRerUwpH24r9fujmTqkdPn24ovSWfek

‘Scuse me while I go lick the last drops of this out of my bowl. Don’t mind the drooling.

xoxo,

Kitchen Bitch

ETA: this recipe has been shared as a part of a real food roundup here

Standard

One thought on “Bouillabaisse

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: 03.09.15 – 03.15.15 | Kitchen Witch & Bitch

Leave a Reply

