Uncategorized

Meal Plan Monday: 03.30.15 – 04.05.15

I’m out of grad school for three glorious weeks, so I’m looking forward to actually sitting down to a meal at the table with my husband without having to quickly choke down whatever is in front of me and then run upstairs to read another article or write papers until my fingers bleed. (Not literally… that would be terrible.) Point is, I’m going to be a little more extravagant this week in my meal planning due to my time off from academia. I’m also going to be trying out a few gluten free packaged meals since I discovered our town has an Aldi’s. True story: I’ve driven past this Aldi’s going on five years now and never realized it was there. I even argued with my husband about it for a week until he google mapped it for me using the satellite image function. I picked up some grass-fed ground beef and a few packaged gluten free meals when we went to Aldi.

Breakfasts:

  • Two Ingredient Pancakes
    • I’ve been seeing this all over Pinterest, it’s gluten free and supposedly foolproof, so I’m going to try it out. Spoilers: I can cook pretty much anything you ask of me except pancakes and french toast, so we’ll see how this works out. I’m not expecting good things.
  • Buffalo Chicken Egg Muffins from the 21 DSD Guidebook
  • Omelettes with green onion and goat cheese with homemade breakfast sausage
  • Leftovers from dinner the night before

Lunches:

  • Chicken Salad in lettuce cups
  • BLT rollups
    • Essentially some low sodium bacon and sliced tomato rolled up in a lettuce leaf with mayo and a little mustard
  • Lemon Garlic Seafood Pasta made with the Mei Fun noodles I bought a few weeks ago
    • Probably going to finish up the last of the cod I bought along with some shrimp and scallops
  • Leftovers from dinner the night before

Snacks:

  • Green tipped bananas
  • Carrots & hummus
  • A serving of pepperoni or a couple slices of deli meat

Dinner:

  • Monday
    • Baked BBQ Chicken, Jo Jo Potatoes, & a Side Salad
  • Tuesday
    • Taco Casserole
      • Terribly low brow rice casserole we all know and love – I’ll be using brown rice instead of white and black beans instead of refried beans to boost the nutrition
  • Wednesday
    • Mustard Glazed Chicken from the 21 DSD Guidebook with Brussels Sprouts
  • Thursday
    • Turkey Burgers & Bacon Red Potato Salad
  • Friday
    • Zoodles and Meatballs
  • Saturday
    • Pepperoni Pizza (Udi’s uncured pepperoni pizzas)
  • Sunday
    • Lunch at the in-laws for Easter (They’re grilling steaks & I’m bringing a few gluten free sides so I won’t just be eating steak.)

Grocery List:

  • Orange Juice
  • Salami
  • Pepperoni
  • Applegate smoked turkey slices
  • Fish Sauce
  • Bananas
  • Green Onion
    • I will be so thankful when I can finally just grow this in my container garden again
  • Eggs
  • Goat Cheese
  • Ground Turkey
  • Coffee Creamer
  • Pickles
  • Bacon
  • Hummus
  • Carrots
  • Scharr’s Hamburger Buns
  • Udi’s Pizza
  • Zucchini
  • Bell Pepper
  • Red Potatoes
  • Sour Cream
  • Milk
  • Bottle of red wine

Late additions due to sales:

  • Avocados ($0.59 each at Aldi)

Impulse buys:

  • Grass-fed ground beef at Aldi
  • Bottle of Dr. Pepper

I’m still struggling with what sides to make for Easter, so I’ll probably be making another grocery trip at some point this week.

xoxo,

Kitchen Bitch

Standard

Leave a Reply

